Sponsors & Contributors

Adam Arthur
Abraham Lincoln High School

Adam Arthur has taught social studies in the Des Moines Public School District for 5 years and currently teaches Advanced Placement Government and Politics at Abraham Lincoln High School. Adam also works as an instructional coach on the AP Government and Politics Knowledge in Action project which is a project of the George Lucas Educational Foundation.

He has a bachelor’s degree in all social science from the University of Norther Iowa with an endorsement in Advanced Placement U.S. Government and Politics. In his free time Adam enjoys being outdoors, playing disc golf, and spending time with his fiancé and pit bull “Aero”.

Canada Snyder
Central Academy

Canada Snyder has taught social studies for 16 years and currently teaches AP and IB classes at Des Moines' Central Academy. She has a bachelor's degree in history from the University of Iowa and master of science in education from Drake University with an emphasis in curriculum writing. Canada enjoys reading history books-especially anything on Lincoln-scrapbooking, listening to music and spending time with her husband and two children. Canada has won the Belin Blank Award for Excellence in Teaching and has participated in teacher study tours in China and Germany.

Joseph Nydle
Hoover High School

Joseph Nydle teaches AP Government and AP Human Geography at Hoover High School in Des Moines. Prior to teaching, Mr. Nydle worked various roles in electoral politics, advocacy, and public policy. His passion for informed civic action and love for working with youth inspired him to transition to the classroom. It is his goal to consistently create engaging and challenging lessons with a relevant context. Mr. Nydle lives in Des Moines with his wife and their dogs.

Jack Vanderflught
Dallas Center-Grimes

Jack Vanderflught began his teaching career in 1992 and has taught AP US History, AP World History (DMACC concurrent), AP US History (DMACC concurrent), United States History and American Government at Dallas Center-Grimes High School since 2009. Jack has also worked as the social studies professional learning community (PLC) leader at the high school and as a coach. In 2021, he also became an adjunct instructor in history for Southwestern Community College.
Jack received his B.A. from Graceland University majoring in history with a minor in political science. Since then, Jack has become certified with an all-social studies endorsement. In addition, he received a Masters of Teaching from Morningside College and was in the first class of teachers receiving certification in the social studies from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. In 2019 he completed a Master’s Degree in History from Missouri State University. Besides teaching, Jack also serves social studies educators as the Advocacy Director for the Iowa Council for the Social Studies. Jack lives in Osceola and enjoys spending time with his spouse Lizzey, an elementary teacher and coach, and his daughter Elaina, an architectural student at Drury University. Jack also enjoys watching Royals baseball, working as a political activist, performing music and working with his church.

Dianne Bystrom

Dr. Dianne Bystrom is director emerita of the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics at Iowa State University. She directed the center for 22 years before retiring in August 2018. She also established Iowa State’s Leadership Studies Program and served as its director for 10 years. At Iowa State, she taught courses on women and politics, political campaigns, and women and leadership.

Dr. Bystrom has contributed to 25 books—including Women in the American Political System: An Encyclopedia of Women as Voters, Candidates, and Office Holders (2019); An Unprecedented Election: Media, Communication, and the Electorate in the 2016 Campaign (2018); and Gender and Elections (2018, 2014, 2009 and 2006)—as a as a co-author, co-editor or chapter author. She is the recipient of numerous awards for her work, including induction into the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame in 2018, selection as a Woman of Influence by the Des Moines Business Record in 2017, and as the first recipient of the Iowa Network for Women in Higher Education’s Distinguished Higher Education Leadership Award in 2016.

Dr. Bystrom continues to serve as a speaker and commentator about women’s issues, leadership and politics for community groups, professional organizations and the media. She also is serving a two-year term (2019-2021) as co-president of the League of Women Voters of Nebraska. Dr. Bystrom earned a bachelor’s degree in journalism from Kearney (NE) State College and a master’s degree in journalism and Ph.D. in communication, both from the University of Oklahoma.

Curriculum Reviewers

Kari Miller — East Mills Community High School

Kurt Flood — Dowling Catholic High School

Travis Sprague — Harris-Lake Park Community School District

Carol Price — Heartland Area Education Agency 11

Dominic Iannone — West High School

Jennifer Cole — Shenandoah High School

Kathy Turnball — Indianola High School

Alex Wimmer — Remsen Union School District

Christine Schaefer — Woodward Granger High School

Sam Hellberg — Wapello Junior High School

Mark Zeka — Le Mars Community High School

Chris Arians — Clarksville Middle School

J. Keith Fry — Substitute Teacher

Premier Sponsors

Suffrage 101 sponsors

Suffrage 101 Contributors

Sponsorship Opportunities Still Available

For more information email Michael.Ross@sos.iowa.gov

or call 515-725-2874

Thumbs Up!
We Looked Over The Curriculum And We Give It A Thumbs Up!

— gosz3b
— tspu31
Nicole McCloskey — Riverbend High School/ Spotsylvania County Schools
Kristopher Hayes — Keokuk High School
Brian Sauerbrei — Iowa Falls - Alden High School
Valorie Philips — Akron-Westfield
Jeff Niehaus — East Sac County
Jonathan Potter — North Iowa
Ben Docker — Central Lyon High School
Jacob Jensen — Hampton Dumont Middle School
Austin Thies — Saint Albert Catholic School
Ann Jackson — B.R. Miller Middle School, Marshalltown CSD
Linsay Hall — Valley Lutheran School
Chris Arians — Clarksville Community Schools
Travis Sprague — Harris-Lake Park