We want to showcase student involvement this political season on the campaign trail, in the classroom and beyond.  

Teachers should encourage students to share how they are getting involved in their community.


What should students submit?

Any active political involvement. For example, these could include: a candidate sign in their yard (national or local), participating in the campaign trail, participating in student government or a local rally.

How can students share?

Upload a photo of themselves to Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and include the hashtag #BeAVoter. We will select photos to spotlight on the Secretary of State Facebook page weekly. 

2022 Spring Iowa Youth Straw Poll Locations

Below you will find the full list of schools participating.

Don’t see yours? Get involved here.

Abraham Lincoln High School
Albia Community School District
Alethian Academy
Ames Christian School
Anamosa High School
Andrew Community School
Ankeny High School
Anthon Elementary School
Aplington Parkersburg Middle School
Atlantic High School
Atlantic Middle School
Ballard Middle School
BCLUW Middle School
Bellevue Community Schools
Boulder Peak Intermediate School
Boyden Elementary School
Brooklyn Guernsey Malcom Junior High School
Burlington Notre Dame High School
Cal Elementary School
Cardinal Community School District
Cardinal High School
Carlisle Middle School
Central DeWitt High School
Central Lutheran School
Charles City High School
Clarinda Lutheran School Association
Clarke Community Schools
Clayton Ridge Middle School
Clear Lake High School
Clear Lake Middle School
Colo-Nesco High School
Dallas Center-Grimes High School
Davis County Community Schools
Denver High School
DeWitt Academy (Homeschool)
Diagonal Community Schools
Dike-New Hartford CSD
Dubuque Senior High School
Earlham High School
East High School
Elk Horn Kimballton High School
English Valleys High School
Estherville-Lincoln Central High School
Fairfield High School
Forest City Middle School
Franklin Elementary School
Gerald W Kirn Middle School
Gilmore City Bradgate Elementary
Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School
Grandma’s Homeschool
Hampton-Dumont High School
Harlan Community High School
Hempstead High School
Highland MS/High School
Hillcrest Academy
HLV Community School
Holy Cross Catholic School – Blessed Sacrament Center
Hubbell Elementary School
Humboldt Middle School
Inwood Christian School
Jefferson High School
Jesup Middle School
Johnson Academy
Johnston High School
Kanesville Alternative Learning Center
Lamoni High School
Launching Arrows Homeschool
Lawton-Bronson Jr/Sr High School
Lewis Central
Little Way Homeschool
Madrid Junior & Senior High School
Maharishi School
Marquette Catholic Schools
Mason City Schools
Mediapolis High School 
Merrill Middle School
Missouri Valley CSD
Monticello High School
Moravia Elementary School
Nashua-Plainfield Community School District
Nevada Middle School
New Hampton Elementary School
New London High School
Nodaway Valley School District
North Cedar Jr / Sr High School
North Central Junior High
North Mahaska Junior-Senior High School
North Tama County Community School
North Union Middle School
Northview Middle School
Northwood-Kensett Jr/Sr High School
Odor Academy
Oelwein Middle School
Orange City Christian School
Osage Community Schools
Oskaloosa HSAP
Oskaloosa Virtual Academy
Ottumwa High School
Pella Middle School
Pleasant Valley High School
Pleasantville School
Regnum Dei Classical Academy
Riceville Community School District
Ridge View Middle School
River Valley Community School
Roosevelt Creative Corridor Business Academy
Sageville Elementary School
Saint Edmond Catholic Schools
Saint James Catholic Church
Salem Elementary School
Salem Elementary School
Sanborn Christian School
Saydel Schools
Schaller-Crestland Elementary
Sergeant Bluff-Luton CSD
Shenandoah Community School District
Sibley-Ocheyedan Middle School
Sigourney Elementary School
South O’Brien
South Tama County Middle School
South Winneshiek Schools
Southeast Valley High School
Spalding Park Elementary 
Springville High School
St. Augustin Catholic School
St. Joseph Catholic
Stanton High School 
Starmont Community School District
Stewart Elementary School
Summit Schools
Thomas Jefferson Middle School
Tipton Middle School
Trinity Christian High School
Trinity Lutheran School
Tri-State Christian School
Turkey Valley Community School
Underwood Middle School
Union High School
United Community School District
Urbandale High School
Valley High School
Valley Lutheran School
VS Academy
Wapsie Valley
Washington High School
Waukon High School
Wayne Community Schools
Weber Elementary School
West Branch High School
West Hancock Elementary School
West Harrison Community School District
West Marshall Schools
Westwood Community Schools
Williamsburg Jr./Sr. High School
Wilton Elementary School
Woodrow Wilson Elementary School
Woodward-Granger Schools
Zion Lutheran School